Category: Ayurved


Ayurveda And It’s Eight Branches

Ayurveda is especially boundless in itself. It split in eight sections for simplification of people’s understanding. This eight branches of Ayurveda is called “Ashtanga Ayurveda” .


  1. Kaaya Chikitsa
  2. Baala Chikitsa
  3. Graha Chikitsa
  4. Urdhvaanga Chikitsa
  5. Shalya Chikitsa
  6. Damstra Chikitsa/Agad tantra
  7. Jara Chikitsa
  8. Vrusha Chikitsa

Small narration about these eight wings:

  1. Kaaya Chikitsa (Internal Medicine)

Kaya Chikitsa (Treatment of Body) typically deals with the diagnosis or as we say interpretation and treatment of a variety of common diseases, such as  diabetes, skin disorders, tuberculosis, rheumatoid arthritis and other disorders. Kayachitikitsa is the branch of herbal and holistic medicine, which is ascertaining the root cause of the illness.

  1. Baala Chikitsa (Treatment of Children/Pediatrics)

Balachikitsa is the division of Ayurveda that deals with health issues of children, from before conception to the age of sixteen. Bala Chikitsa also known as  Kaumara Bhritya. As we know caring of children follows two main methods – preventive and treating methods.

  1. Graha Chikitsa (Demonology/Psychology)

The concept of Ayurveda also believes in the past karma or deeds as a causative factor of certain diseases. Graha Chikitsa or Bhuta Vidya is primarily concerned with the diseases of mind or psychic conditions. Diseases such as mental diseases, children’s diseases, and diseases that do not follow the theory of Tridosha balance.

The treatment is based on the theory of spiritual healing is based upon chanting or sound therapy, called Mantra in Sanskrit. And also various disinfectant plants and herbs used for treatment which makes the atmosphere germ free.

  1. Urdhvaanga Chikitsa (Treatment of eyes, ears, nose, throat and head)

This arm of Ayurveda deals etiology, assessment, anticipation, eradication and treatment of ailments of the part and parcel that are located on top of the neck part such as the ears, eyes,  nose, mouth, teeth, throat and head.

  1. Shalya Chikitsa (Surgery)

Shalya Chikitsa or surgery deals with treatment of diseases caused by foreign bodies and diseases that need surgical remedies. It is carried out as prominent branch of Ayurvedic science. In the early age, surgery was basically spearheaded by Ayurveda. It only for diseases, which cannot be cured by medicines such as  internal and external injuries, multiple types of tumours, fracture of bones, complications during pregnancy and delivery and obstruction in intestinal loop.

  1. Damstra Chikitsa/Agad tantra (Toxicology)

This wing of Ayurveda deals with the science of poisons. Poisoning from animals, such as  moths, spiders, scorpions, snakes and also of plants, metals and minerals all are cured by this treatment. It also called as Visha Chikitsa. The word ‘damstra’ specify to the teeth of poisonous snakes, while ‘agada’ is a phrase for any agent that frees the body of ‘gada’ or disease. The toxins prepared in Agada Tantra are also used to treat several common and chronic diseases like vomiting, eye medication, and removal of residual poison as well as fever, cough, and diarrhea.

  1. Jara Chikitsa (Geriatrics, Rejuvenation)

Jara Chikitsa is also known as Rasayana Chikitsa. It desires to obtain a long and healthy life. It encircles strength of body and senses, youthfulness, complexion, longevity, improved memory, health, glow, generosity. The Jara chikitsa includes management of a very strict diet.

  1. Vrishya Chikitsa (Aphrodisiac therapy)

We all know celibacy is essential for good health. It helps increase the will power, intellect and memory, in addition to a healthy body. Vrishya Chikitsa or Vajikarana chikitsa deals with several ailment like infertility and situations liken to the crucial reproductive fluids (weak shukra dhatu) of the body. This Chtikitsa directs the use of several aphrodisiac herbs and minerals to enhance the vitality. Shilajit, Mucuna Pruriens (naikkurana), Aswagandha etc aphrodisiacs give extra ***ual power.


Today people are very much attracted towards the eastern medical system Ayurveda. And also get benefited from it without any side effect.

Be the First to comment. Read More
Ayurved, Yoga

Relation Between Yoga And Ayurveda

Yoga and Ayurveda are the ancient life-disciplines that have been practiced in India for centuries. The main objective to practice each is to achieve longevity, rejuvenation and self-realization.

As we know Ayurveda is the science of life where Yoga is the science of union with the Divine, with Truth. In Hinduism, the goal of life is to get salvation. And the path is not so easy. It’s also a time consuming process.  Ancient Munis wanted to live thousands of years through meditative consciousness to get final beatitude. That’s why Yogis discovered Yoga with Ayurveda. They adopted both systems as the part of their life equivalently.

Ayurveda can be practiced successfully by anyone for the achievement of good health and longevity where Yoga is liberation, although only certain disciplined individuals are able to obtain this ultimate goal through these practices. Yoga is the path of getting salvation. And Ayurveda gives assistance. It is necessary first to understand bothNone of these practices stand alone.

Yoga has six branches and Ayurveda has eight branches which we will discuss in our subsequent articles.

Be the First to comment. Read More